Trust for the Beyond

4

July 28, 2012 by Anna Scott

So, it’s Friday! And I’ve decided to join Lisa-Jo and many other amazing writers in a writing flash mob of sorts. This is how it goes: everyone gets the same prompt, and writes for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking. No worrying about perfect grammar, font, or punctuation. Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

I’m a little nervous. But here goes…. At the moment, this is what comes off the top of my head when I think of the word “beyond.”

Ready. Set. Go.

What’s beyond just what I can see? The unknown can swallow me up if I’m not carful. I start to panic. Slowly sinking into all the thoughts and possibilities filling up my head. But I won’t give in. If I fill up my heart with worry, if I always try to figure out the future, theres no room left for faith. There remains no place for joy. I mustn’t try to control something that isn’t mine. Tomorrow is His. He has given me today. He has given me right now.

Right now there are friends I haven’t talked to for a while. We need to catch up. And to laugh.

I just got a new haircut. It’s a simple thing that brings me joy.

Currently there is a moment that Jesus is yearning to share with me.

A little later there is a triple date I’m going on with my sisters and their guys. And I know we will be making unforgettably amazing memories the whole time.

There is also a wonderful man who wants to learn how to make my coffee perfectly. He is teaching me to be a better person.

Now the sun is out. And I’m going to soak up every bit of summer, because it’s going by too fast.

I’m going to focus on and put my all into right now. I don’t want to know what’s beyond. I want to trust, and be willing to stretch. Trust is the difference. The suspense of the beyond can easily overwhelm my intentions for today. But if I trust, whatever beyond is just gives right now deeper meaning.

 

4 thoughts on “Trust for the Beyond

  1. Denise says:

    Amen, well said.

  2. Beautifully written. You are right…fear can crowd out faith and there is no place for joy. May we trust God today with what’s beyond.

  3. Ruth says:

    Amazing, sister mine! You have an incredible gift with words. OK, you made me cry just because I feel left out! Nothing deep — just jealous. =) My sisters and their guys… minus me and mine. *sniff* You all are making crazy good memories. Come down and visit me soon?

  4. Barbie says:

    Stopping over from the 5 Minute Friday. To know and trust that our future is secure helps us to focus on what is current in our lives. I don’t want to miss the here and know simply because I yearn for what lies beyond. Beautifully written!

Leave a comment